CofC Logo

Library Archives For Database News

A Reader is no longer required to take advantage of ebrary’s key functionality!

Where do you find ebrary?
Visit the College of Charleston Libraries database page and select ebrary

How do I use it?

Tutorial information and screen shots from ebrary Quick Start Guide

  1. Conduct a search using simple or advanced, by keyword, full-text, publisher, author, and more. View results ranked by book or chapter.
  2. Open a book by clicking on the title name or jacket. No downloads
    or installations are required.
  3. Explore the document by navigating to search terms, searching for key words, jumping to relevant chapters, and flipping through pages.

  4. Highlight, take notes, and transform text into hyperlinks to other online resources. Highlight with or without notes attached in multiple colors. Create a personal bookshelf (if needed) to save and organize your research.
  5. Use InfoTools to link to other online resources. Simply select words of interest in a document.
  6. Copy and paste text, and print pages and chapters, with automatic citations that include URLs back to the source.
  7. Manage and share your research by dragging books, highlights and notes into bookshelf folders, which can be emailed to peers.

“World Policy Journal” added to Project MUSE

Posted on 10 May 2010 | 10:32 am — 

World Policy Journal has recently been added to the Project MUSE database. JOURNAL COVERAGE: Vol. 27 (2010) through current issue ABOUT THE JOURNAL: Founded in 1983, World Policy Journal is … Read More

New Databases

Posted on 3 April 2010 | 2:46 pm — 

Please call the helpful librarians at 3-8000 or email refdesk@cofc.edu for more information.  As always, the reference librarians are happy to meet with you and your  students – in a … Read More

Two Trial Databases at Addlestone Library

Posted on 5 March 2010 | 2:11 pm — 

We have added the following two database o our databases page.  These are on trial with us until May 3, 2010. Literature Criticism Online http://www.cofc.edu/library/find/databases/index.php#l Ethnographic Video Online http://www.cofc.edu/library/librarians/trials/index.php Trial … Read More

Lowcountry Digital Library Reviewed in “CHOICE”

Posted on 4 March 2010 | 8:01 pm — 

Choice, a prestigious online review of library related materials, has given a very positive review of our own Lowcountry Digital Library which documents the history and culture of the region.  … Read More

Mechademia Debuts in Project Muse

Posted on 27 January 2010 | 5:17 pm — 

A new title debuts in the database Project Muse available at the Addlestone Library. Mechademia: An Annual Forum for Anime, Manga and the Fan Arts. Mechademias subject area extends from … Read More

New Print and Electronic Subscriptions for 2010

Posted on 6 January 2010 | 1:36 pm — 

The College of Charleston Library has added the following databases and electronic subscriptions to the collections, thanks to the support of the Friends of the Library for the Lexis/Nexis Academic database and to the Provost’s office for their continuing support.  Subscriptions start on January 1, 2010, unless otherwise noted.

Here’s a brief overview.  Please call the helpful librarians at 3-8000 or email refdesk@cofc.edu for more information.  As always, the reference librarians are happy to meet with you and your  students – in a class or for a personal research consultation – to teach best practices for conducting research and to make the most of the library’s print and electronic resources.

The Lexis-Nexis Academic database covers a wide range of subject areas. It is mostly full-text and is updated daily or more frequently (National Public Radio, for example, is updated hourly). In Lexis-Nexis Academic, you can search for information, such as currently breaking news, the latest on environmental issues, full-text company reports and other financial information, and biographies. Sources include newspapers (worldwide), popular and trade journals, radio and television transcripts (some full-text), military information and journals, federal and state code, federal regulations, and press briefings.

Arts and Sciences VI and the Ireland collection are the two newest additions to the JSTOR suite. The College of Charleston Library was one of the first subscribers to JSTOR in the late 1990s when the Mellon Foundation began converting printed scholarly journals into a centralized digital archive. JSTOR has become one of our most trusted and heavily used databases and we’re delighted to add their journals.  The Arts and Sciences module is comprised of 120 journals in disciplines across the social sciences, including clusters in economics, education, linguistics, political sci­ence, and area studies and the Ireland collection adds titles and resources in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics, and biology.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery. Once completed, this digital collection will comprise five million pages of documents.  Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition – available now – contains 1.5 million pages, including more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections. This collection strongly supports research with a U.S. focus, but also includes resources from Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean – allowing for comparative research.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides access to citations and abstracts of books and book chapters, dissertations, and articles culled from over 1,300 scholarly journals in the fields of linguistic research, language research, and research in the areas of speech, hearing, and language pathology.

The Fisheries InfoBase provides access complete run of the publications of the American Fisheries Society, the world’s oldest and largest organization dedicated to strengthening the fisheries profession, advancing fisheries science, and conserving fisheries resources.

Environmental Ethics is an interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the philosophical aspects of environmental problems.

The Social Science Computer Review covers social science research and instructional applications in computing and telecommunications, as well as societal impacts of information technology.

In the late 1950′s, editor Sam Goudsmit started collecting the Letters to the Editor of the Physical Review into a new standalone journal entitled Physical Review Letters. Today it provides rapid publication of short reports of significant fundamental research in all fields of physics.

The Duke University Press collection provides electronic access to 31 of their humanities and social sciences journals including Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa and the Middle East <http://cssaame.dukejournals.org> , Eighteenth-Century Life <http://ecl.dukejournals.org>  , Ethnohistory <http://ethnohistory.dukejournals.org> , French Historical Studies <http://fhs.dukejournals.org> , Labor: Studies in Working-Class History of the Americas <http://labor.dukejournals.org>  , South Atlantic Quarterly <http://saq.dukejournals.org>  and Theater <http://theater.dukejournals.org>

Wiley-Blackwell’s American Literature Collection is an on online collection of journals devoted to the study of American authors. The American Literature Collection is currently comprised of journals, devoted to the studies F. Scott Fitzgerald, Herman Melville, Mark Twain, Edgar Allen Poe and John Steinbeck.

Short Story Index is a digital guide to almost 100,000 short stories that may be searched by author, title, subject, keyword, date, or literary technique.

DataMonitor.com provides individual reports, company and country profiles and data models for industries ranging from auto to telecom.

New Journal: Annual Review of Marine Science

Posted on 10 December 2009 | 3:22 pm — 

The library is  subscribing to a new electronic journal , the Annual Review of Marine Science. The series will draw from disciplines as diverse as biochemistry, physical oceanography, ecology, and … Read More

PASCAL and Us

Posted on 16 October 2009 | 4:02 pm — 

The College of Charleston Library is part of a consortium of 40+ academic libraries across the state that make borrowing quick and easy.  The consortium is called PASCAL (PARTNERSHIP AMONG … Read More

JSTOR Training Available

Posted on 23 September 2009 | 10:36 am — 

We’d like to point out some JSTOR training resources available to you, free of charge.

The Training & Materials page has downloadable resources for training and education, to save you time:
-Webinars on using JSTOR (online live and recorded)
-PowerPoint presentations to train others on using JSTOR
-JSTOR Search widget for your library web page (can include your proxy server for remote access)
-Materials to download: How-to poster, FAQ Handout, JSTOR logos & screen shots and more

The Help documentation includes detailed search help, which spells out how to refine a search.

The Tutorials page has many short videos on using JSTOR. New: Finding or Avoiding Reviews; Advanced Search; Primary vs. Secondary Sources; and more. The YouTube versions can be embedded into your LibGuides.

The Resources for Librarians page has links to stats, policies, upcoming events, and more.

Some of the training resources, such as the “How to Use JSTOR” poster and the “Reviews in JSTOR: How to Find or Avoid them” video tutorial were suggested by librarians as materials that would be helpful to them. What do you wish JSTOR could help you with? If you have questions or suggestions, please contact training@jstor.org.