College of Charleston Libraries Library Rotanda photo

Search icon

Databases

Search the databases to find articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. (Databases are available only to College of Charleston students, faculty, and staff.)

Alphabetical List of Databases (See results below)

Browse by Title

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

Academic Search Premier (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
The world’s largest multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated daily.

Academic OneFile (Full Text)  Discus
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Accounting Research Manager
A timely and comprehensive online database of expert-written analytical accounting, auditing, governmental, internal controls and SEC information as well as primary source data. Two users at a time so please log out when finished.

AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
The most extensive online collection of copyright-released multimedia material available. It contains The Associated Press' current year's photo library and a wide selection of images from their vast negative and print library, dating from the 1840s. The Multimedia Archive contains over 750,000 photos.

ACM Digital Library (Full Text)
A full-text collection of over 35 journals published by Association for Computing Machinery. Articles are on all aspects of computer science.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications (Full Text)
Articles from 33 ACS publications which appear online anywhere from two weeks to three months before the article is available in print. Coverage extends back four years.

African American Poetry (LION) (Full Text)
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

The African American Experience
A collection of resources on African American life covering such topics as history, biography, literature, arts, education, civil rights, politics, folklore, etc.

Agricola
Index to over 2.9 million records covering every major agricultural subject. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Covers 1970 to the present.

America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1876 (Full Text)
Includes Early American Newspapers, Series I. 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 700 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies.

America's News Magazine (Full Text)
Use this database to find magazine articles from popular news magazines.

America: History and Life
Comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Covers 1964 to the present.

American Drama 1714-1915 (LION) (Full Text)
Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714–1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented.

American National Biography (Full Text)
Biographical information on people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. ANB contains profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all walks of American life, from the well-known to the infamous to the obscure.

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 (APS Online) (Full Text)
This collection contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.

American Poetry (LION) (Full Text)
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

American Reference Books Annual (ARBA Online)
Reviews of electronic products and serving as a source of information on professional products for librarians and information specialists.

Année Philologique (L'Année Philologique)
L'Année Philologique is an index of publications related to the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. It is published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, under the direction of Éric Rebillard, with the American Philological Association and the Database of Classical Bibliography, Dee L. Clayman, General Editor, with the support of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France) et du National Endowment for Humanities (USA). Search by modern or ancient authors, texts, title or subject.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
ABELL contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Annual Egyptological Bibliography Online
The AEB is the primary bibliographical resource for Egyptological research. It is published jointly by the International Association of Egyptologists and the Netherlands Institute for the Near East, and it contains abstracts (in German, French or English) of all Egyptological articles and monographs published from 1947 to 2001, some 46,000 titles in total.

Annual Reviews
Index to annual reviews in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Tables of contents from 1984 to 1994 and abstracts from 1995 to date.

Anthropological Index Online
Offered through the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland this database indexes anthropological literature from the 1970s to the present.

Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature indexes articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology and includes art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Updated quarterly, Anthropological Literature includes articles two or more pages long in works published in English and other European languages from the late 19th century to the present.

Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts
Major areas of coverage include: aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, and wildlife management. Coverage is from 1978 to present.

Archive of Americana (Full Text)
Searches Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800, Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819, and Early American Newspapers, Series I.

Art Full Text (Full Text)
Full text for over 100 journals plus abstracts and indexing of international, art-related publications. Full text begins in 1997 and indexing in 1984.

ARTFL Project
Database of classical French writings that includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises.

ArticleFirst
Indexes over 15,000 journals in all subject areas. Covers 1990 to the present.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Please log off when you are finished.

ARTstor (Full Text)
A collection of over 300,000 images which documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures. The focus of the collection includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Astrophysics Data Service
Access to four databases containing more than 2 million abstracts in the areas of astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and the Los Alamos preprints in astronomy. Coverage is from 1975 to the present.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Full Text)
A collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Journals representing all major religious faiths, major denominations, and language groups are included. Information dates as far back as 1949, and coverage continues through the present.

^ go to top

B

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
One of the largest indexes of sources of biographical information on notable people.

Biography Resource Center (Full Text)
Combines over 300,000 biographies on more than 220,000 people.

BioMed Central (Full Text)
Over 100 open access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine.

Birds of North America (Full Text)
The Birds of North America (BNA) is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. BNA Online contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings of bird's songs and calls.

Books and Authors discus
This database includes book reviews from more than 30 sources such as Publishers Weekly (and users can generate their own reviews), bibliographies, and links to related social sites like del.icio.us. Users also can create reading and search lists in their user accounts, which remain intact from visit to visit in a “My Reading Room” feature.

Book Review Index Online Plus (Full Text)  Discus
Comprehensive reference database for locating reviews of books, periodicals, books-on-tape and electronic media. Contains the entire backfile of Book Review Index print content (1965-), has more than 5 million review citations and more than 634,000 full-text reviews.

Business and Company Resource Center (Full Text)  Discus
Comprehensive periodical and reference resource for business, management and investment topics, with Newsletters ASAP and Predicast’s PROMT databases. Articles from and general business, industry & management periodicals, newsletters, newspapers and newswires (4000+ indexed titles; 2900+ full-text). Investment and broker research reports. Company & association directory listings from a number of sources. Additional content from reference sources covering industries, company histories, associations, brands, market share, and more.

Business Source Premier (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Provides full text for over 2,300 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.

^ go to top

C

Cabell's Business College Set
The Business Set includes the Cabell’s Directories in Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing.
**Note: You will need to select the desired directory from a list after clicking this link.

Cabell's Educational Set
The Educational set includes the Cabell’s Directories of Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science.
**Note: You will need to select the desired directory from a list after clicking this link.

Cabell's Psychology & Psychiatry
**Note: You will need to select the desired directory from a list after clicking this link.

Cambridge Scientific Databases
Search all or any of the following databases: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Conference Papers Index, Environment Sciences and Pollution Management, ERIC, GeoREF, Oceanic Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Zoological Record.

Campus Research (WestLaw)
Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources.

**Please note that many functions of Westlaw Campus Research will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.

Canadian Poetry (LION) (Full Text)
This unique collection contains the full text of more than 19,000 poems by 177 Canadian poets from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.

CCH Internet Tax Research Network (Full Text)
Electronic access to Commerce Clearing House publications in such areas as securities, banking, trade regulation, information technology and product safety/liability. This source covers over 58,000 companies, listing stock dividends, splits, reorganizations and other capital structure changes over the last 100+ years.

CenStats Databases (Full Text)
Contains U.S. Bureau of the Census databases such as County Business Patterns, International Trade Data, Census Tract Street Locator, U.S. Counties and Building Permits.

Charleston Net (Full Text)
Contains the Charleston Post and Courier and a variety of information about Charleston.

Chicago Manual of Style (Full Text)
The 15th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style Online.

Choice Reviews Online
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources in all subject areas of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts. Only ONE user at a time so please log off when you're finished.

Christian Science Monitor (Full Text)
Full text of the current day of a respected international daily newspaper published Monday through Friday.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
This comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 to the present that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from international conferences.

CINAHL (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, this database provides indexing for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 1,000,000 records. Now includes the Pre-Cinahl database.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Full Text)
Comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 620 journals indexed in CINAHL. The database also provides full text for 218 books/monographs. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (Full Text)
Contains the full-text of articles in The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald and the Richmond Examiner from Nov. 1860 through April 1865.

Clase/Periodica
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities and PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together they offer access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.

Classical Music Library (Full Text)
Over 30,000 classical music tracks with 2,000 more added each month. This service also includes thousands of program notes and hundreds of playlists. Please exit database when finished. Our license is for three users at a time.

CollegeSource Online (Full Text)
Contains over 4,000 United States and international college and university full-text catalogs.

Communication and Mass Media Complete (Full Text)
Combines the CommSearch database and the Mass Media Article Index. Contains full-text to over 60 journals in addition to journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communications studies.

Computer Source (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Focusing on information and current trends in high technology, this database offers full text for more than 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.

Contemporary Authors (Full Text)
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Contemporary Women's Issues on Health and Human Rights
Citations to information on women in over 150 countries. Journals, newsletters, research reports, and fact sheets from disciplines such as sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights. Covers 1995 to the present.

Country Studies (Full Text)
Contains the on-line versions of books previously published in by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. 102 countries and regions are covered. Notable omissions include Canada, the United States, France, the United Kingdom, and other Western nations, as well as a number of African nations.

County and City Data Book (Full Text)
Electronic versions of the 1988, 1994 and 2000 County and City Data Books.

CQ Electronic Library (Full Text)
Includes CQ Researcher, a source for in-depth analysis reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day, CQ Weekly, a source for expert coverrage of the U.S. Congress such as status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and CQ's Encyclopedia of American Government.

CSH Protocols
Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals. Protocols will be continuously expanded, updated, and annotated by the originators and users of the techniques.

Custom Newspapers (Full Text)  Discus
Contains full-text of the Charleston Post and Courier beginning Jan. 2001 and the last 365 days of the New York Times and over 100 domestic and international newspapers including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch as well as the London Times. For a complete list of newspapers covered, click here.

^ go to top

D

Daily Life Through History
Daily Life Through History gives a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history. At the heart of this database are the 27 volumes of the Daily Life Through History series from Greenwood Press and the six volume Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life. Also included in this online database are related books from Praeger Press, related reference works from Greenwood Press, and related primary source documents.

Dictionary of American History (Full Text)
This is the third edition (2003) of the most comprehensive encyclopedia on American history, comprising ten volumes in printed form. The 4,400 signed articles range in length up to 7,000 words. You can see the table of contents here. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Dictionary of National Biography (Full Text)
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Dictionary of Old English, Old English Corpus (Full Text)
A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. There are 3047 texts in the corpus.

Directory of Open Access Journals (Full Text)
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. As of 2004, there are over 750 journals included.

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots
Contains information about all public company filings including annual reports, company summary information, shareholder reports, etc.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database includes over 2 million master's theses and dissertations, with over 60,000 titles added every year. It's a great resource for researchers in a wide variety of fields.

Dissertation Abstracts
Complete range of subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions. Covers 1861 to the present.

^ go to top

E

E-Source for College Transitions
A bi-monthly electronic newsletter published by the National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition. Its primary purpose is to provide practical strategies for supporting student learning and success.

Early American Fiction 1789-1850 (LION) (Full Text)
Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1850.

Early American Fiction 1789-1875 (LION) (Full Text)
Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 (Full Text)
Contains full-text images of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. It includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages and is based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Full Text)
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. Based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Bibliographic records created by the AAS are integrated into the database, providing additional access points.

Early English Prose Fiction (LION) (Full Text)
A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.

ebrary (Full Text)
A collection of over 27,000 electronic books covering all subject areas. A web browser plug-in is required to read ebrary books. Click here to download the ebrary web browser plug-in.

EBSCO Animals (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Encyclopedia of Animals (EBSCO Animals) offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

EBSCO Electronic Journals Service (Full Text)
Indexing to thousands of journals and full-text to over 300 journals principally in the sciences.

EBSCO Serials Directory
Access the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials with The Serials Directory.

EconLit
Comprehensive, international, partially annotated bibliography of economics literature. Indexes over 300 journals as well as books, dissertations, working papers, and collective volumes. Covers 1969 to the present.

Education Full Text (Full Text)
An education database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. It also contains full-text for over 100 journals.

Educator's Reference Complete (Full Text)  Discus
Database of education resources covering multiple levels from preschool to college. Contains more than 1,100 full-text periodicals covering a variety of disciplines, 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education and resources on educational specialties and issues related to administration, funding and policies. Updated daily.

eHRAF World Cultures (Full Text)
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.  The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction (LION) (Full Text)
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.

EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
Detailed abstracts of hundreds of environmental impact statements issued by the U.S. government. Database coverage is from 1985 to present and updates are bimonthly.

Emerald Full Text (Full Text)
Fulltext access to current journal articles covering numerous aspects of management including accounting, business management, environmental management, library science, marketing, professional development, and more.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition (Full Text)
Comprehensive source of encyclopedia content and related materials. Includes Encyclopaedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus. Includes links to web sites for The New York Times and BBC News. Also includes World Data Analyst, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics. Access also provided to the Britannica Blog, stimulating dialogue covering a wide range of topics.

Encyclopedia of Animals (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Encyclopedia of Animals (EBSCO Animals) offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics (Full Text)
Covering the fields of astronomy and astrophysics this encyclopedia includes the full text of over 2,750 articles, plus links to the primary literature, and is frequently updated with new material.

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information, 2002 (Full Text)
Information on the full spectrum of communication, from careers to information technologies, in an interdisciplinary fashion. Emphasis is on both historical and current issues, topics, and people. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Education 2nd edition, 2002 (Full Text)
A comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Life (Full Text)
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species. Each site is constantly evolving and features dynamically synthesized content ranging from historical literature and biological descriptions to stunning images, videos and distribution maps.

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, 2002 (Full Text)
3,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events, and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia, and also the flow of people, goods, and ideas within Asia and globally. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa 2nd edition, 2004 (Full Text)
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (Full Text)
Includes 402 original articles covering all the physical, chemical and biological aspects of ocean science.

Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd edition, 2004 (Full Text)
This fifteen-volume set is the second edition (2004) of one of the most important reference works in the field. Heavily revised from the first edition (1986; edited by Mircea Eliade), the set contains over 3,000 articles which provide a cross-cultural approach to the study of religion. You can see the table of contents here. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2000 (Full Text)
Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy, and epidemiology. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Energy Citations Database
Citations for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The database provides access to publicly available DOE citations from 1948 through the present.

English Drama (LION) (Full Text)
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.

English Poetry, Second Edition (LION) (Full Text)
This collection builds on the original English Poetry collection (Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources) with enhanced functionality and the addition of more than 20,000 poems.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

ERIC (EBSCO version) (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
The Education Resources Information Center provides index and full text to journal articles, government studies, books, dissertations, and other material on education and related fields. Combines citations of sponsored reports, from Resources in Education, and over 750 journals, from the Current Index to Journals in Education. Covers 1966 to the present.

ERIC (U.S. Dept. of Education) (Full Text)
The new Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) online education database provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), are available for free.

Europeana (Full Text)
Europeana is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 2 million digital items from museums and galleries, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections including:

  • Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
  • Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
  • Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
  • Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts

^ go to top

F

The Faber Poetry Library (LION) (Full Text)
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house. In total The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.

FedStats
Statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Covers 1994 to the present.

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 (Full Text)
396 pamphlets published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

^ go to top

G

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd edition, 2000 (Full Text)
Essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section. It's part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Full Text)
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. in the fields of Education, History, Law, Multicultural Studies, Religion and Social Science.

GalleryWatch CRS Reports (Full Text)
Includes abstracts and the PDF full text for more than 25,000 CRS Reports and is updated daily, Content spans from 1993 to the present and covers a range of subject areas including economics, the environment, foreign affairs, immigration, medicine, civil rights, national security, terrorism, and more. Current and archived versions of each report are included, providing comprehensive coverage of edits and amendments.

Gateway to 21st Century Skills (Full Text)
Access to high quality lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources on the Internet.

Gender Watch (Full Text)
With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Combining more than 200 , gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with more than 100,000 articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.

GeoRef
Nearly 2 million periodical citations about geology and earth sciences. Covers 1785 to the present (North America) and 1933 to the present (entire world).

Getty Thesarus of Geographic Names Online
Contains nearly 1 million place names representing approximately 900,000 places. Each place has attributes, including names, place types and coordinates. The places are arranged in hierarchies representing the current political and physical world.

Google Book Search (Full Text)
Over 10,000 full text books many of which are older and no longer copyrighted. Limited access to almost 100,000 additional works. To limit your search to full text click "Full view books". Click here

Google Scholar Online
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

**Off-Campus users click here to customize Google Scholar results for CofC resources.

GPO Access
Electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government such as the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, U.S. Code, etc.

GPO (U. S. government documents index) (Full Text)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)

GreenFILE (Full Text)
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.

Grove Art Online (Full Text)
Online version of the 34-volume text covering all forms of the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images. Note: Only one user at a time can access this database.

Grove Music and Musicians Online (Full Text)
Online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music including New Grove Dictionary of Opera. Note: Only one user at a time can access this database.

^ go to top

H

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America, with citations (some in Spanish or Portuguese) to materials in the humanities and social sciences. Covers 1935 to the present.

Hands on Health
The purpose of Hands on Health-SC is to give the people of South Carolina a place to go to learn about health and wellness.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Full Text)  Discus
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals and indexing and abstracts to over 300 additional periodicals. The database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

Health Source: Nursing/ Edition (Full Text) Collegiate Discus
Includes more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on the nursing and allied health fields but also covers many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals.

Historical Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to historical literature (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Historical Statistics of The United States
Contains annual, time-series data with national coverage on almost any aspect of United States economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics

History Resource Center: U.S. (Full Text)  Discus
Provides access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.

History Resource Center: World (Full Text)  Discus
Collection of resources providing coverage of events, themes and trends in world history from antiquity to the present, with a multicultural and global view. Contains full text articles from over 110 academic journals, more than 1,600 historical maps and atlases, chronological timelines and annotated web links to primary source special collection sites.

Hospitality & Tourism Index
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive database contains more than 490,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage dating as far back as 1965.

Human Relations Area Files (Full Text)
A collection of ethnographic texts arranged by culture and subject, eHRAF contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.

^ go to top

I

IEEE Computer Society Journals (Full Text)
Online access to the entire IEEE Computer Society Digital Library, including 23 magazines and journals (archived to 1988) 1,700+ conference publications (archived to 1995) with more than 150,000 articles and papers.

Informaworld (Full Text)